Leave a comment

Life is a Contant State of Transitions

“And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” Anais Nin

996896_10201250711737483_1990090208_n

Just as a flower bloom and moves through a transition such is real life for humans. We as humans are on constant journey of changes. The reality is, oftentimes the price of changes and transitions out weights the cost of remaining the same…… the changes force us to move through transitions whether we want to or not.
Recently my family experienced some painful transitions, on Tuesday January 7 my Mother made her transition from her earthly journey into her soul journey. On Saturday April 5th my husband’s father made his earthly transition. On Tuesday May 6 my oldest son’s mother in law made her earthly transition. Death is a reminder that we only live once and there is no way around it, so we must enjoy every moment that we are alive because life can change in instant. Although we look at death as the end of life, it is really just a transition into a better life.
In the midst of it all the earthly transitions, I am moving forward with the transition of closing my daycare business. A business that I have been operating since May of 2001.

One thing for sure life is full of transitions and there is no way around them, you just have to sail your way through them. On Memorial Day weekend, my husband and I went to the movies. I requested that I wanted to go see the movie “CHEF”. I had read the previews and thought it would be a good movie to watch. And yes it turned out to be a great movie, with a few sub lines that had strong messages. After viewing the movie it helped me put a few things in perspective while I maneuver my way through my own career transition. Changing careers is never easy… especially when things are going well, but you just feel deep down inside that you need a change. Well, that’s how I am feeling…a part of me want a change and know that I need a change but the security of where I have been for the last 13 years is comfortable. However, just like in the movie “CHEF”, I am learning to recognize sometimes you can outgrow your career and you need to be wise enough to know when life is offering you a better or different opportunity.

A few things I gleamed from the movie is:
Every man must personally know when their season is up in a particular business, job or career..knowing when to hold it and when to fold it is paramount and the art of accepting change
Never allow anyone to block your creative mojo
Live out your passion, you only get one life and you have to live it the best to your ability
You are your own personal CEO, so take charge and never give in to someone who wants to define what you are suppose to do or be

Life is a constant state of transitions and we must always be willing and ready to change when that moment comes. We have to be wise enough to know when we need a change. When we are wise enough to allow transitions to take place we bloom and blossom into the person we were meant to be.

Are you wise enough to recognize when you need a change?

Leave a Reply

